Home Page / Glossary / ACCC


Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)

(formerly the Trade Practices Commission)



From ACCC site, 'About the ACCC' (2018)

Our purpose

Making markets work for consumers, now and in the future.

Our role

Competitive markets increase the prosperity and welfare of Australian consumers. Our role is to protect, strengthen and supplement the way competition works in Australian markets and industries to improve the efficiency of the economy and to increase the welfare of Australians.

This means we will take action where this improves consumer welfare, protects competition or stops conduct that is anti-competitive or harmful to consumers, and promotes the proper functioning of Australian markets.

Our priorities are reflected in four key goals:

  1. maintain and promote competition and remedy market failure
  2. protect the interests and safety of consumers and support fair trading in markets
  3. promote the economically efficient operation of, use of and investment in monopoly infrastructure
  4. increase our engagement with the broad range of groups affected by what we do.

ACCC initiatives also include promoting consumer education in regional and rural areas and with indigenous communities.

Our role complements that of state and territory consumer affairs agencies who administer mirror consumer protection legislation in their jurisdictions, and the policy work of The Treasury’s Competition and Consumer Policy Division.


The ACCC provides secretariat services to the National Competition Council (link is external) (NCC), including advice and support in relation to NCC recommendations, decisions and reports, and administrative services.



Chairs - ACCC

Rod SimsRod Sims (1 August 2011 - current)

Rod Sims was nominated by the Gilliard Government and appointed by the Governor-General on 17 July 2011 with unanimous support by the states and territories.

Rod Sims was re-appointed for a further three year term in August 2016 and was re-appointed again on 25 October 2018 for a further three year term until 2022.

View blog piece on the nomination of Rod Sims.

View expert page on Rod Sims for more details.

Graeme SamuelGraeme Samuel AC (1 July 2003 - 31 July 2011)

Graeme Samuel AC was appointed Chairman of the ACCC in 2003 and held that position until 2011. Graeme Samuel is a lawyer by profession. He was awarded Companion of the Order of Australia in 2010 for eminent service to public administration through contributions in the area of economic reform and competition law, and to the community through leadership roles with sporting and cultural organisations..

View expert page on Graeme Samuel

Allan FelsProfessor Allan Fels AO (1 July 1995 - 30 June 2003)

Professor Fels was the first Chairman of the ACCC. He completed a Law/Economics degree at the University of Western Australia and has a PhD in Economics from Duke University. He has held a wide variety of positions both prior to and after his Chairmanship at the ACCC.

Professor Fels was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia in 2001 for 'service to Australian competition policy through the development and regulation of trade practices and consumer protection, and to public education in relation to consumer law and its implications for business and commerce.'

See expert page on Allan Fels and Melbourne Law School staff page.

Chairs - TPC

Professor Robert (Bob) Baxt AO (1988-1991)

Professor Baxt is a lawyer and academic. He was the third and final Chairman of the Trade Practices Commission. Prior to his time at the Commission he was Dean of Law at Monash University; since leaving the Commission he has been a Parner at Herbert Smith Freehills (Melbourne) and is a Professorial Fellow at the Melbourne Law School.

Professor Baxt was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia in 2003, for 'service to the law, particularly as a leading spokesperson in the areas of trade practice, competition, taxation and corporate law, and in the field of legal education'.

View full profile page for Robert Baxt

William Robert (Bob) McComas AM (dec) (February 1985 - February 1988)

Bob McComas was a lawyer prior to taking up his position as Chairman of the TPC.

Bob was awarded Member of the Order of Australia for 'service to business and commerce in the field of competition and corporate law through the Trade Practices Commission.'

View profile page for Bob McComas

Ronald (Ron) Bannerman AO (dec) (October 1974 - 1985)

Ron Bannernan was a lawyer, appointed to serve as the first Chairman of the Trade Practices Commission in October 1974. Prior to that he was the Commissioner of Trade Practices from 1966 until 1974.

Ron was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia in 1985 in 'recognition of service to the Public Service, particularly as Commissioner of Trade Practices and Chairman of the Trade Parctices Commission'

View profile page for Ron Bannerman



For a list of past chairs, deputy chairs and commissioners see:

ACCC, 'Former Chairs and Commissioners'


Legislation (CCA)