Home Page / Legislation / Competition and Consumer Act 2010 / s 7

Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)

Section 7
Constitution of Commission


The provision

(1) The Commission shall consist of a Chairperson and such number of other members as are from time to time appointed in accordance with this Act.

(2) The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Governor General and shall be so appointed as full time members.

Note: A member of the Commission who is also appointed as an AER member remains a full time member of the Commission: see section 44AN.

(3) Before the Governor General appoints a person as a member of the Commission or as Chairperson, the Minister must:

(a) be satisfied that the person qualifies for the appointment because of the person’s knowledge of, or experience in, industry, commerce, economics, law, public administration or consumer protection; and

(b) consider whether the person has knowledge of, or experience in, small business matters; and

(c) if there is at least one fully participating jurisdiction—be satisfied that a majority of such jurisdictions support the appointment.

(4) At least one of the members of the Commission must be a person who has knowledge of, or experience in, consumer protection.


Legislative history